Life After a Non-Traditional Student Graduates

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11

Here I am, 38 years old and finally a college graduate!  Now what?

I have been asking myself this for the past several days.  I have been working towards this goal for the past 4 years.  To accomplish this goal, I had to go to school for 3 semesters a year.  Spring, summer and fall…so it has been a constant in my life for 4 years.  It gave me something to work for, a purpose – more than the usual day to day of going to work and caring for my kids.  I am finding myself empty right now, relieved – but empty.

I thought that after school, I would begin to look for my “dream” job.  However, I have become attached to my co-workers and the place that I work.  The schedule works out REALLY well for my children, I get home only a little over an hour from when they are out of school.  I have some flexibility where I am currently at, which is really important as a single mom.  I have some sick time and some vacation time – more than most moms in my situation.

The thought of ministry keeps coming to mind.  I have always wanted to help other single moms because when I felt that I needed some help and encouragement –  I found it lacking.  That was over a decade ago, is this something that is still needed today?

As you can see, I am struggling.  I guess I sort of thought that I would have it all figured out when I finally arrived at this point, but I don’t.  I might be even be more confused about my future now than I was BEFORE I started college!

I obviously don’t have a clear picture of what my future will look like now, but I do know that there is one constant in my life that will never change and that is the fact that God is in control.  He knows the desires of my heart.  He knows what is best for me and my little family.  He has a plan for me and even if it hasn’t been revealed yet, I know he has one.  And for now, that will have to be enough.

For now, I feel led to continue writing to single moms and to have an encouraging presence on social media.  I know that being a single mom – especially as a Christian, can feel lonely.  Who knows, maybe I will write a book and get to do all the things I had hoped for when I became a single mom.  Whatever the road I take, as long as the Lord is walking beside me, then I will know it is good.

He has plans for me.  Plans not to harm me…but to give me a hope and a future.  That sounds pretty good to me.

Leave a comment